Tadhg Crowley Cup / Ladies AGM / Scor - 24/01/2014

 Crowley Cup
The senior footballers got their 2014 season off to a winning start with a good win over Douglas in an entertaining Tadhg Crowley Cup first round game, played in Ross last Sunday.
Douglas registered the first score of the game, but that was quickly cancelled out by a Declan Hayes point. Five points from John O'Rourke and another from Declan Hayes helped Ross into a half time lead of 0-7 to 0-3. Douglas came more into the game in the second half and brought the score back level. A pointed free from Chris O'Donovan and a goal from Brian Shanahan helped Ross to restore the lead. Further points from Declan Hayes, two from John O'Rourke and a point from James Fitzpatrick completed a good win for Ross on a scoreline of 1-12 to 0-12. The only black card of the game was given to a Douglas defender.
Team: Paul Shanahan, Damien O'Brien, Michael O'Donovan, Michael Kelly, Gearoid O'Brien, Padraig Hodnett, Stephen Murray, Kevin MacMahon, Michael Mennis, Declan Hayes, John O'Rourke, Padraig Hicks, Chris O'Donovan, James Fitzpatrick, Brian Hodnett, Subs used: Cathal Prendergast, Brian Shanahan, Alan Jennings, Sean O'Neill and Kieran Fitzpatrick.
Carbery Rangers will play Dohenys in the quarter final of this competition, which is down to be played next Saturday the 25th at 3pm, with the venue yet to be confirmed - Check locally for further information.

Rosscarbery Ladies Football Club AGM

The Rosscarbery Ladies football club held their AGM last Friday night the 17th of January in the club rooms in Ardagh. The meeting was well attended by both players and parents, where a comprehensive review of the past year took place both on and off the pitch. The outgoing chairperson thanked everyone who helped out in any way during the past year and congratulated all teams who represented the club with distinction throughout the season.

Congratulations were extended to our U21 team who were crowned county champions and also to our U 16 team who were runners up in the west Cork league. Congratulations also went to the girls from our club who played on Cork teams during the year, Aine Hayes Cork senior and U21 all Ireland Champions, Tara Maguire and Grainne O’Sullivan also Cork U21 all Ireland, and also to Kate O’Donovan who was selected to play on the Cork team for the primary games.

The club is now recruiting trainers and helpers for the various teams for 2014 and would appeal for as much help as possible, anyone interested in helping out in any way please give your name to club secretary Martina Hill.

Officers elected for the forthcoming season are as follows: Chairperson, Margaret O’Donoghue; Vice Chair, Pat Maguire; Secretary, Martina Hill; Assistant Secretary, Pat Lane; Treasurer, Eliz Hayes; Assistant Treasurer, Maire O’Brien; PRO’S, Aileen Kearns and Cait Mennis; Registrar, Josephine Twomey.

The Scor Ná bPaisti held in Lisavaird last Sunday drew a large crowd, well done to all participants who took part on the day making it a very successful event. A presentation was made on the day to PJ and Joan Tobin, in recognition of their dedication to the Scor in Rosscarbery over the years from Carbery Rangers.
Best of luck to the Scor Ná bPaisti representatives who will be competing in Ballydehob next Sunday.
The club would also like to wish Patrick Hurley, Mary Hurley, Sean Hurley, Brian O'Sullivan, Maedbh O'Sullivan, Daniel McSweeney, Cian O'Mahony and Rachel Hodnett the best of luck in the Munster Final of the Scór Ná Óg (Leiriu) Novelty Act, which will be held in Mallow on Sunday next the 26th of January.

Club Lotto

Crest to Mobile